J.W. Burch State Specialist Agricultural Extension Award

The J. W. Burch Award for exceptional extension program leadership recognizes state specialists for their effectiveness of program leadership with field staff, quality of extension publications, presentations and other educational materials, and recognition by state and national peers for their program quality.

Nominations & Submissions

Annual Deadline: March 1

Submit nominations in a single PDF attachment via email to the CAFNR Office of Extension.

Name the file as: Year_Extension_LastFirstName (e.g., 2022_Extension_TigerTruman). In the email subject line indicate Burch Extension Award Nomination.

  • Unsuccessful nominations may be updated and resubmitted in successive years.
  • Submissions should use 12 pt. font, 1” margins, and single space within paragraphs.

Nomination should include:

  1. Nomination/Cover Letter that describes the most important aspect(s) of the nominee’s outstanding contributions in Extension programming, demonstrated evidence of achievements, contributions, and/or activities that qualify the specialist for this award. Include a description of the qualities and achievements that characterize excellent and impact (limited to one page).
  2. Supporting letters (limited to three) from external and internal colleagues and collaborators (each letter is limited to one page).
  3. Biography and/or curriculum vitae (limit to one page).
  4. News releases or other pertinent materials may be included, but please limit to three items.

Please contact CAFNR’s Office of Extension with any questions.

2024 Kelly Nelson
2023 Hank Stelzer
2022 Mallory Rahe
2021 Jordan Thomas
2020 Teng Lim
2019 John Lory
2018 Jared Decker
2017 Ryan Milhollin
2016 Joseph Zulovich
2015 Dan Downing
2014 Peter Scharf
2013 Gene Stevens
2012 William Justin Sexten
2011 Bob Weaber
2010 Kevin Bradley
2009 Timothy Safranski
2008 Craig Roberts
2007 Barry Steevens
2006 Joe Horner
2005 Marcia Carlson Shannon
2004 Robert Kallenbach
2003 Raymond Massey
2002 Bob Broz
2002 Laura Sweets
2001 Michele Warmund
1999 David Patterson
1998 Ron Plain
1998 John Hoehne
1997 Daryl Hobbs
1996 Wayne Bailey
1996 Jerry Carpenter
1995 William Wiebold
1995 Charles Fulhage