CAFNR Research Council

The CAFNR Research Council (CRC) is an advisory body for the CAFNR Office of Research, created to implement the CAFNR Strategic Plan and Drive CAFNR research enterprise to Distinction.


  • Jay Chism, Director, Southwest Research, Extension and Education Center
  • Pei Liu, Associate Professor, Division of Applied Social Science
  • Ron Mittler, Curators’ Distinguished Professor, Division of Plant Science & Technology
  • Nilesh Salvi, Research Scientist, Division of Bioengineering
  • Michael Stambaugh, Associate Professor, Forestry, School of Natural Resources
  • Katy Stoecklein, Graduate Student
  • Peter Sutovsky, Professor, Division of Animal Sciences
  • Bongkosh Vardhanabhuti, Food, Nutrition & Exercise Sciences
  • Gary Weisman, Curators’ Distinguished Professor, Division of Biochemistry
  • Jeri Lou Zimmerman, Staff, CAFNR Office of Research


The Council hosts a Research Symposium each fall to showcase innovation by CAFNR faculty, academic associates, postdocs and students in each of the six divisions. Activities include a keynote presentation, research lectures, lightning talks and poster sessions.

Webinars are held throughout the year to touch on timely research topics by CAFNR faculty or present resources available by outside entities.

CAFNR Research Council Webinar Series