Column Awards

The true measure of one’s College’s greatness can be found in the achievements of its alumni. The College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources is known to develop leaders in many areas. Many CAFNR alums have gained unique distinction through success in their professions, service to Mizzou, and contributions to their community.


The purpose of the Column Award for Distinguished Alumni is to recognize CAFNR alumni who have made significant professional contributions and whose accomplishments, affiliations, and careers have honored the legacy of excellence in the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources.

Criteria for Selection

This distinction will be reflective of the University of Missouri’s core values—Respect, Responsibility, Discovery, and Excellence. Each of the six divisions within CAFNR will identify one recipient who will be distinguished in at least one of the three areas outlined below:

Professional Achievement and Career: The recipient attained prominence through his or her efforts in agriculture, commerce, industry, education, government or other worthy endeavors that for a record of accomplishment impressive to the citizens of Missouri and the nation.

Service to Society: The recipient exhibits integrity and a demonstrated commitment to service through an interest in bettering the lives of others through volunteer efforts.

Service and Support to the University of Missouri: The recipient’s deeds and actions reflect the importance of his or her educational training, pride in alma mater as demonstrated through their interest and support of the University of Missouri, and the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources.

Nominations open to CAFNR Division Directors only.

  • Animal Sciences: Martha Fischer – B.S. Animal Sciences ’86
  • Applied Social Sciences: Joseph Roetheli – B.S. Agricultural Economics ’70; Ph.D. Agricultural Economics ’79
  • Biochemistry: Aneesh Tosh – B.S. Biochemistry ’97
  • Food, Nutrition & Exercise Science: Theodore C. “Ted” Jacoby – B.S. Agriculture ’62
  • Plant Science & Technology: Jeffrey Volenec – M.S. Crop Physiology ’80; Ph.D. Crop Physiology ’83
  • School of Natural Resources: Harold E. “Gene” Garrett – Ph.D. Forestry ’70
  • Animal Sciences: Stacey L. Follis – BS Agriculture (Minor in Animal Sciences) ’98; MS Animal Sciences (Reproductive Physiology) ’00
  • Applied Social Sciences: Tahira K. Hira – MS Agricultural Economics ’73; PhD Family Economics & Financial Management ’76
  • Biochemistry: Sarah Burns – BS Biochemistry ’01
  • Food, Nutrition & Exercise Science: Melissa Joy Dobbins – MS Nutrition Education and Coordinated Program in Dietetics ’93
  • Plant Science & Technology: Paul Verslues – BS Agriculture ’94; MS Agronomy (Plant Physiology) ’97
  • School of Natural Resources: Mike Griggs – BS Recreation & Park Administration (Emphasis in Leisure Service Management) ’85; MS Parks, Recreation and Tourism (Emphasis in Administration) ’91
  • Animal Sciences: Janet Snow – BS Animal Sciences ’96
  • Applied Social Sciences: Keith Spackler – MS Agricultural Economics ’85; BS Agricultural Economics ‘79
  • Biochemistry: Nicholas Duck – PhD Biochemistry ’92, MS Biochemistry ’86
  • Food, Nutrition & Exercise Science: Sheri Smithey – PhD Ag Engineering ‘93, MS Ag Engineering ‘90, BS Biochemistry ‘89
  • Plant Science & Technology: Sherry Flint-Garcia – PhD Genetics Area Program ‘01
  • School of Natural Resources: Delores Knipp — MS Atmospheric Science ‘84, BS Agriculture ‘76
  • Animal Sciences: Eldon Cole – MS Animal Husbandry ’63, BS Agriculture ’62
  • Applied Social Sciences: Charlene Finck – BS Agricultural Journalism ‘85
  • Biochemistry: Sharon Berberich – BS Biochemistry ‘82
  • Food Systems & Bioengineering: Sarah Geisert – BS Food Science ‘81
  • Plant Sciences: Robert J. Jones – PhD Crop Physiology ‘78
  • School of Natural Resources: J. Scott Angle – PhD Soil Microbiology ‘81
  • Animal Sciences: Darryl Chatman – BS Animal Sciences ’97, MS Animal Sciences ’01, MS Agricultural Economics ’07, Juris Doctorate ’08
  • Applied Social Sciences: John Phillips – PhD Rural Sociology ’03
  • Biochemistry: Kamal “Doc” Yadav – MS Biochemistry ’62, PhD Biochemistry ’66
  • Food Systems & Bioengineering: E. Allen Foegeding – BS Agriculture ’75, MS Food Science ’78
  • Plant Sciences: Eric Triplett – PhD Agronomy ’81
  • School of Natural Resources: Hilda “Pat” Jones – BS Agriculture (Soils Emphasis) ’50, Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters ’17
  • Animal Sciences: Everett Forkner – BS Animal Husbandry ’61
  • Applied Social Sciences: Robert “Bob” Thompson – BS Agricultural Economics’64
  • Biochemistry: Lowell Miller, Sr. – BS Animal Sciences ’57, MS & PhD Biochemistry ’58 & ’60
  • Food Systems & Bioengineering: Wamwari Waichungo – MS & PhD Food Science ’94 & ’96
  • Plant Sciences: Edwin “Ed” J. Anderson – PhD Molecular Plant Virology-Plant Pathology ’91
  • School of Natural Resources: Daniel C. Dey – BS Forest Management ’76, MS Silviculture ’80, PhD Quantitative Silviculture ’91