Mizzou Students Awarded Agriculture Future of America Scholarships

Twelve Mizzou students were selected to receive Agriculture Future of America (AFA) Scholarships. AFA’s mission is to “build bridges for young leaders, fostering engagement and innovation in food and agriculture.”

The students were selected based on their career goals, leadership and community involvement and financial need. Recipients will also receive admission to the AFA Leaders Conference in November. AFA experiences connect students to a diverse community of peers and professionals who are passionate about food and agriculture. The goal of the experiences is to challenge the way students think about themselves, their potential career and the agriculture industry.

Students selected include:

  • Clara Bailey – Freshman, Agricultural Education, Pike County
  • Grant Oaks – Freshman, Agricultural Systems Technology, Sullivan County
  • Avery Pickering – Freshman, Animal Sciences, Sullivan County
  • Andi Belt – Freshman, Agricultural Education, Shelby County
  • Marissa McEwen – Freshman, Agriculture, Shelby County
  • Austin Wilson – Freshman, Plant Sciences, Shelby County
  • Aliza Yoder – Freshman, Plant Sciences, Shelby County
  • Gage Benskin – Freshman, Agricultural Systems Technology, Monroe County
  • Katrina Thomas – Freshman, Biochemistry, Monroe County
  • Shelby Dotson – Freshman, Agribusiness Management, Pettis County
  • Gavin Rhode – Freshman, Agribusiness Management, Clinton County
  • Kelsey Rathbun – Freshman, Agricultural Systems Technology, Andrew County