Biochemistry and Plant Sciences Students win awards at 2024 Midwest American Society of Plant Biologists Meeting

Four students post holding certificates.

Four CAFNR undergraduates won awards at the 2024 Midwest American Society of Plant Biologists Meeting held at Purdue University. Award winners include:

  • Will Thives Santos (Junior, Biochemistry, Craig Schenck lab) – 3rd place poster presentation award
  • Felicity Guttmann (Junior, Plant Sciences, Soyon Park lab) – 1st  place poster presentation award
  • Carissa Bersche (Sophomore, Biochemistry, Antje Heese lab) – 2nd place poster presentation award
  • Eric Fritschi (Junior, Biochemistry, Antje Heese lab) -3rd place for oral presentation award

All four CAFNR undergraduates started their research careers at MU as Freshmen in Plants (FRIPs) Fellows in the labs of IPG faculty members. Notably, CAFNR undergraduates “swept” the undergraduate poster presentation awards at this meeting, with all three undergrad poster presentation awards going to MU CAFNR undergrads.

The Midwest section of ASPB includes plant biologists from Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia to Wisconsin, and from Canadian Manitoba and Ontario.