Patrick Westhoff Receives Mitchell Fellow Award at 2019 Celebration of Excellence

Patrick Westhoff, director of the Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute (FAPRI) and Cowden Professor, agricultural and applied economics, received the Roger L. Mitchell Fellow Award at CAFNR’s 2019 Celebration of Excellence awards ceremony, held Thursday, April 11.

Patrick Westhoff’s research includes conducting forward-looking analysis of agricultural markets and policies. He provides analysis to policymakers and the public on the impacts of farm legislation, trade agreements, technology and the macro economy. He worked as a Congressional economist before coming to MU in 1996. Since 2011, Westhoff has served as director of the Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute (FAPRI). He is the Cowden Professor in agricultural and applied economics.

“Dr. Pat Westhoff is recognized in Missouri, the U.S. and internationally as one of the leading researchers at applying economics to study the details of agricultural policies in terms of their impacts on market quantities and prices,” said Wyatt Thompson, associate professor of agricultural and applied economics. “As director of the Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute, he leads a collaborative team that wins external support for a research program that generated, in recent years, two score journal articles and far more reports for researchers, farmers, and policy makers. His profile in state is pronounced – traveling to all corners to talk with young farmers groups, ag lenders and others – and his duties at MU include graduate and undergraduate teaching, advising and chairing key committees. He plays a critical role to CAFNR as a reliable colleague and excellent scientist, mentor to his staff and students, and key researcher whose work on our team matters to Missouri.”