Allison Meyer receives Outstanding Young Researcher Award from the American Society of Animal Science

Allison Meyer is the recipient of the 2020 Midwest Section of the American Society of Animal Science (ASAS) Outstanding Young Researcher Award, presented to her this week during the annual 2020 Midwest ASAS-ADSA Meeting held in Omaha, Nebraska.

Meyer grew up on a cow-calf operation in central Indiana before completing her bachelor’s degree at Michigan State University, master’s degree at the University of Missouri, and PhD at North Dakota State University. Meyer was on faculty at the University of Wyoming before returning to the University of Missouri in 2013. Currently, Meyer is an associate professor with a 45 percent research, 45 percent teaching appointment, and serves as director of graduate studies in the Division of Animal Sciences. Meyer’s research focuses on effects of late gestational nutrient balance in beef cattle on pre-weaning calf metabolism and health, spanning from applied system work to small intestinal and immune function mechanisms. She has published 34 peer-reviewed articles and more than 120 abstracts, received more than $1 million in funding, given more than 35 invited scientific or industry presentations, trained eight graduate students, and involved more than 20 undergraduates in research.

The Outstanding Young Researcher Award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the research of Animal and Dairy Science. Their work is related to a specific phase in areas such as breeding, feeding, management, nutrition, growth, and other possible aspects important to the development of animal research. This award is sponsored by DSM Nutritional Products Inc.

About the ASAS Midwestern Section/ADSA Midwestern Branch: This joint organization is composed of the ASAS Midwestern Section and the ADSA Midwest Branch. Members of either ASAS or ADSA that are associated with the organizations in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin are automatically considered members. The purpose of this joint group is to advance research and education in animal sciences through providing a regional forum for exchange of scientific and technical information, and to promote interaction and collaboration among animal industries, scientists, trainees, and students.