Submit Accolades

Stallman Honored by Truman School

Judy Stallmann has received the Mary Phillips Faculty Award from the Truman School of Public Affairs to recognize her service to the school. With the award, the Truman School honors faculty for their research, teaching or service work. Stallmann serves as a professor of agricultural and applied economics and rural sociology and is an affiliated faculty member with the Truman School.

Vanatta Part of Inaugural Advisor Development Program

Christina Vanatta, academic adviser for the hospitality management program, participated in the inaugural UM System Advisor Development Program, an initiative designed to recognize and further develop advising and academic coaching professionals. The program involves advisers who have at least five years of advising experience, and emphasizes personal and professional growth. Learn more about the program by visiting the UM System website.

Segovia Accepted into Summer Institute in Berlin

Michelle Segovia, assistant professor of agricultural and applied economics, has been accepted to attend the 2019 Summer Institute on Bounded Rationality to be held this June in Berlin, Germany. Hosted at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development, the institute will introduce participants to bounded rationality, which suggests people make decisions given constrained time, information or computational power, and it will focus in particular on bounded rationality in a digital world. See more information about the summer institute at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development website.

Hendrickson Recognized for Excellence in Instruction

To recognize her work in education and instruction, Mary Hendrickson, rural sociology assistant professor, will receive the 2019 Excellence in Instruction Award from the Rural Sociological Society (RSS). The award honors an RSS member who educates undergraduate or graduate students and excels in rural-oriented teaching.

Learn more about the award at

Reed Adams Honored for Extension, Public Outreach Efforts

The Rural Sociological Society (RSS) has selected Johanna Reed Adams, associate extension professor of rural sociology, to receive its 2019 Excellence in Extension and Public Outreach Award. The award recognizes an RSS member in academia who has contributed significantly to extension and public outreach efforts focused on rural residents, life or policy.

Learn more about the award at

SCN Coalition Wins NAMA Award

The SCN Coalition, a national awareness campaign targeting soybean cyst nematode management, has won the Best of NAMA (National Agri-Marketing Association) Award this year for its successful campaign launch. The Coalition is a diverse group of University researchers, Extension specialists and agricultural company representatives who are concerned about the evolving threat from soybean cyst nematode. Since the Coalition’s launch, University of Missouri nematologist Melissa Mitchum and plant pathologist Kaitlyn Bissonnette have played critical roles in bringing the SCN Coalition and its message to Missouri producers. NAMA is the largest U.S. association for marketing and agribusiness, and the Best of NAMA Awards honor the nation’s best work in agricultural communications.

Ed Turner Receives Mumford Award for Distinguished Service at 2019 Celebration of Excellence

Ed Turner, CAFNR alumnus and former president of the UM Board of Curators, received the Frederick B. Mumford Award for Distinguished Service at CAFNR’s 2019 Celebration of Excellence awards ceremony.

A strong supporter of CAFNR and MU, Ed Turner has served both in many capacities. He was a gubernatorial appointee to the Board of Curators and served as the president of the board. Turner is a member of the Flagship Council and was its chair. He is a delegate for MU Extension to CARET, the Council for Agriculture, Research, Extension and Teaching. He is a member of the board of the CAFNR Foundation, providing the college assistance and funding. And as a member of the Jerry Litton Foundation, Turner was instrumental in establishing an endowment to CAFNR as the base for an educational leadership program developing Litton Scholars. He received his bachelor of science in agriculture from the University of Missouri in 1962.

“In all of these and other roles, Ed has dedicated himself to promoting, guiding and overall service to his alma mater, including many visits with legislators in Jefferson City and (Washington) D.C.,” said Tom Payne, vice chancellor and dean emeritus. “He has been ever present in his support of his College for which he is so, so proud. For his unending service to MU, Ed has received much very deserving recognition. Most notable are the University’s Geyer Award for Public Service to Higher Education, the Gordon Warren Land Grant Award in Extension, the CAFNR Citation of Merit, MU’s Faculty-Alumni Award and the 4-H Directors Award for Outstanding Service.”

Patrick Guinan Receives Mumford Award for Outstanding Faculty at 2019 Celebration of Excellence

Patrick Guinan, associate extension professor and director of the Missouri Climate Center, received the Frederick B. Mumford Award for Outstanding Faculty at CAFNR’s 2019 Celebration of Excellence awards ceremony Thursday, April 11.

Guinan joined MU as a station climatologist with the Agricultural Experiment Station in 1988. He has been an associate extension professor since 2013 and director of the Missouri Climate Center since 2005. Guinan has also co-managed and operated the Missouri Mesonet, a network of 36 automated weather stations in Missouri that monitor several environmental variables on a 5-minute, hourly and daily basis, since 1992. He is the state co-coordinator of the Community Collaborative Rain, Hail and Snow Network (CoCoRaHS).

“Dr. Guinan is a highly respected scientist and extension specialist, who is well known at MU, throughout Missouri and across the United States,” said Patrick Market, professor and interim director, School of Natural Resources. “Dr. Guinan serves MU and CAFNR as the Director of the Missouri Climate Center (MCC). Since 2013, Dr. Guinan and the MCC have also been active partners in the $20 million Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF), which has supported research in areas of climate, climate change, plants, human dimensions, education, and cyberinfrastructure. Dr. Guinan has touched millions of lives, providing Missouri climate data free to all who visit the MCC site, education to students, useful tools for farmers, and sound advice to policy makers and elected officials.”