Submit Accolades

CAFNR Joy of Discovery Seed Grant Program Winners Announced

The first batch of proposals funded by CAFNR’s Joy of Discovery Seed Grant Program has been announced. The Joy of Discovery Seed Grant Program supports nascent, collaborative, multi transdisciplinary research with the goal of developing a competitive proposal for federal funding. The following proposals were selected (listed by the PI, Co-PI/s and title of the project):

  • Antje Heese, David Mendoza-Cozatl and Scott Peck, Towards understanding how protein trafficking modulates iron (Fe) uptake and allocation in model and crop plants 
  • Jacqueline Limberg, Jaume Padilla, Sex differences in insulin-mediated increases in sympathetic nervous system activity, peripheral vasoconstriction and impact of obesity
  • Syon Park, Characterize host defense systems to identify parasite resistance mechanisms
  • Rocio Melissa Rivera, Dissecting the molecular pathways involved in loss-of-imprinting as a result of mammalian embryo manipulation
  • Robin Rotman, Charlie Nilon and Sonja Wilhelm Stanis, Policy approaches to reduce the mental health impacts of repeated exposure to inland flooding
  • Gary Stacey, Jae hyo Song, Development of a novel soybean root hair transformation method
  • Peter Sutovsky, Sperm cell as an unconventional model for the study of Huntington’s disease
  • Victoria Vieira-Potter, Dennis Lubahn and Camilla Manrique, Role of estrogen receptor Beta (ERb) in regulating adipocyte mitochondrial activity: Implications for improving metabolic dysfunction via synergism with Beta 3 Adrenergic Receptor (B3AR) ligands
  • Jianfeng Zhou, Kevin Rice and Prasad Calyam, Develop an insect pest monitoring network using smart sensing technologies

Three IPG Faculty Listed Among 2021 Highly Cited Researchers

Ron Mittler, professor of plant science and technology; Bing Yang, professor of plant science and technology; and Shuqun Zhang, professor of biochemistry; all part of the Interdisciplinary Plant Group (IPG) at the University of Missouri, have been recognized by the Web of Science list of Highly Cited Researchers for 2021. 

This list recognizes world-class researchers selected for their exceptional research performance, demonstrated by production of multiple highly cited papers that rank in the top 1 percent by citations for the field and year.

Henry Nguyen and Jianfeng Zhou publish a book titled High-Throughput Crop Phenotyping

Henry Nguyen, professor of plant sciences, and Jianfeng Zhou, assistant professor in agricultural systems technology, co-edited a book titled High-Throughput Crop Phenotyping. This book provides an overview of the innovations in crop phenotyping using emerging technologies, i.e., high-throughput crop phenotyping technology, including its concept, importance, breakthrough and applications in different crops and environments. Different applications of different organ levels (root, shoot and seed) of different crops (grains, soybean, maize, potato) at different growth environments are also discussed.

The book was published through Springer International Publisher Science and can be found online through Springer’s website.

Caio Canella Vieira Receives Developing Emerging Leaders and Talent in Agriculture (DELTA) Award

Caio Canella Vieira was awarded a grant of $3,000 through the Corteva Developing Emerging Leaders and Talent in Agriculture (DELTA) program. Corteva DELTA is a new program that supports students in STEM-related disciplines. The program has two phases, where students are first selected to participate in the Corteva DELTA Symposium and then one student from each discipline is selected to receive a scholarship. Recipients also get a chance to interact with Corteva’s leadership and scientists for a year.

Canella Vieira is now working towards a PhD at MU in plant, insect and microbial science, and is a soybean breeding research specialist at the Fisher Delta Research Center.

Leon Schumacher Receives 2021 Provost’s Award for Leadership in International Education

Leon Schumacher, professor and agricultural systems technology program coordinator, received the 2021 Provost’s Award for Leadership in International Education. This award recognizes MU faculty who have provided outstanding leadership in strengthening MU’s international dimension.

Schumacher’s research focuses on topics such as precision agriculture, smart farm initiative, Internet of Things (IOT), automated farming systems and energy conservation including biodiesel, biomass and ethanol, as well as curriculum-related issues associated with agricultural systems technology.

Felix Fritschi Receives 2021 Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Research and Creative Activity

Felix Fritschi, C. Alice Donaldson Professor in Bioenergy Crop Physiology and Genetics in the Division of Plant Sciences, received the 2021 Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Research and Creative Activity. This award gives special recognition to MU faculty members who are still in the developmental phases of their careers, have made outstanding contributions in research and/or creative activity and have great promise for achieving wider recognition.

Fritschi has a research/teaching appointment in plant physiology. His main research interests are in the area of plant responses to abiotic stress. In particular, he emphasizes on effects of water deficit and heat on plant growth and productivity. He teaches an introductory classes on grain crop production, crop physiology, and photosynthesis in crop production. In addition, he co-teaches a class on research with plant stress agents.

Teng Lim Receives Burch Extension Award as Part of 2020 Celebration of Excellence

Teng Lim, Extension professor in agricultural systems management, received the J.W. Burch State Specialist Agriculture and Natural Resources Extension Award during CAFNR’s 2020 virtual Celebration of Excellence awards celebration.

Lim earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in biosystems and agricultural engineering from the University of Kentucky. He received his PhD in agricultural and biological engineering from Purdue University. Lim joined the University of Missouri as an assistant professor in 2009. He held the title of associate professor of Extension starting in 2014, and was promoted to professor in 2020. Lim works with regulators, livestock specialists, producers and the agriculture industry to develop practical management and control.

Lim has received more than 30 grants, serving as the principal investigator for the majority of those projects. He has worked on many Extension and applied research projects, worth more than $2.6 million, of which he is the PI for more than $1.8 million. He has received numerous awards, including, most recently, the Ronald J. Turner Global Education Award, Brady J. Deaton Fellow in International Agriculture Award, and University of Missouri Extension Teamwork Award.

“I have been interacting with Dr. Lim since his interview here at Mizzou,” said Jinglu Tan, director of the Division of Food Systems & Bioengineering. “As his division director, I have been evaluating his work annually, and I am pleased to observe him grow from a research faculty, to excel in Extension and applied research. Dr. Lim is a great team player who can work effectively with colleagues in our division, college, university and other institutions nationally and internationally. I have been pleased to see Dr. Lim collaborating with many other Extension faculty over the years, and being active on many Mizzou Extension teams, including the Extension Swine and Dairy Focus Teams, Environmental Team, Inter-Technical Working group (Mizzou, Missouri Department of Natural Resources, and USDA-NRCS collaborate on regional animal farms and environmental issues). Dr. Lim has been leading the MU Biosecurity Team and recently won the MU Extension Teamwork award, which is well deserved.”