Two CAFNR Faculty Named as Curators’ Distinguished Professors

Portrait collage of Pat Westhoff and Blake Meyers

The University of Missouri Board of Curators recently named two CAFNR faculty members as Curators’ Distinguished Professors. The classification is the highest and most prestigious academic rank awarded by the Board of Curators.

Michael Williams, chair of the UM Board of Curators, said the strength of the UM System’s academic institutions hinges on the expertise of its outstanding faculty.

“It is always an honor to recognize our faculty with the highest and most prestigious rank awarded by the Board,” he said. “Their dedication to the university’s missions of education, research, service and economic development is paramount as we work constantly to create a better society.”

“These are prestigious appointments reserved only for outstanding scholars and teachers that are internationally recognized for their contributions,” said Mun Choi, president of the University of Missouri. “Their work elevates our understanding of the world around us and educates the next generation of leaders.”

This year’s recipients in CAFNR are:

  • Blake Meyers (pictured right, above), professor of plant sciences and technology. Meyers’ research focuses on plant molecular biology with an emphasis on RNA sequencing in plants.
  • Patrick Westhoff (pictured left, above), Howard Cowden Professor of Agriculture and Applied Economics. Westhoff is the director of the Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute (FAPRI-MU) and conducts research on agricultural markets and policymaking.

Visit the UM System website to view a full list of recipients from across the system.