Ray Massey Receives 2020 C. Brice Ratchford Memorial Fellowship Award

Ray Massey, Extension professor of agricultural and applied economics in the Division of Applied Social Sciences, received the 2020 C. Brice Ratchford Memorial Fellowship Award as part of the UM System President’s Awards. The C. Brice Ratchford Memorial Fellowship Award recognizes a University of Missouri faculty member who demonstrates commitment, dedication and effectiveness in advancing the land-grant mission through Extension, international education and agricultural economics programs.

In these respects, Massey has performed at the highest levels throughout his career, according to the UM System. His work in agricultural economics has improved lives worldwide, and he is recognized for his contributions to Missouri producers and MU students. Since beginning work at the University of Missouri in 1995, he has provided farmers and agribusinesses with timely and relevant risk management information, won numerous awards for his work, and developed relationships with the Republic of Korea, the Czech Republic, Scotland, China and Argentina.

Notably, his efforts with the USDA’s Foreign Agriculture Service in Argentina built an ongoing and mutually beneficial relationship with the Buenos Aires Grain Exchange and facilitated important study abroad experiences for 20 MU students. Massey has also distinguished himself by working at the forefront of creative thought for agricultural risk management and bringing Midwest farmers insight into behavioral economics to enhance their own decision-making. Enthusiastic recommendations from university leaders, major Missouri agribusiness stakeholders, USDA partners and international colleagues speak to Massey’s considerable impact. As an educator and researcher who has shared knowledge widely and effectively, Massey is undoubtedly the measure of a Ratchford Fellow, according to the UM System.

In 2003, Massey received the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources’ J.W. Burch State Specialist Agricultural Extension Award. This honor recognizes state specialists for their effectiveness of program leadership with field staff, quality of Extension publications, presentations and other educational materials, and recognition by state and national peers for their program quality.