Submit Accolades

Sandy Rikoon Receives Honorary Doctoral Degree

Sandy Rikoon, dean of the College of Human Environmental Sciences and rural sociology professor in the Division of Applied Social Sciences, received an honorary doctoral degree from the University of South Bohemia in the Czech Republic. Dr. Rikoon’s honorary doctorate was the first honorary degree awarded through the university’s College of Economics, and it was only the 26th awarded by the university. Read more about the honor.

Judy Stallmann and Co-Authors Receive Best Paper Award

Judy Stallmann and co-authors Craig Maher, Steven Deller and Sungho Park, won the award for best paper in the Journal of Public and Nonprofit Affairs last year. The paper, titled “Surveying the Effects of Limitations on Taxes and Expenditures: What Do/Don’t We Know?” reviews the theoretical, operational and empirical contexts of tax and expenditure limitations at the state and local levels. Stallmann is a professor in agricultural and applied economics, rural sociology and public affairs. You can read the paper here.

Brandi Baade Receives Outstanding Teaching Accolade

Brandi Baade, a master’s degree candidate in agricultural leadership, communication and education, will receive an Outstanding Teaching – Ideas Unlimited Award from the National Association of Agricultural Educators during a November awards ceremony. The Ideas Unlimited contest is designed to give members an opportunity to exchange classroom, SAE, leadership, and other teaching ideas. Only six of these awards are presented nationally each year.

Henry Nguyen Awarded 2018 Crop Science Research Award

Henry T. Nguyen, Curators’ Distinguished Professor in Plant Sciences, has been awarded the 2018 Crop Science Research Award by the Crop Science Society of America. This award is presented to recognize outstanding research contributions in crop science. Candidates are evaluated on significance and originality of basic and applied research contributions in crop science, excellence in creative reasoning and skill in obtaining significant data and total impact of contributions on crop science and other fields, nationally and internationally

Nguyen will be recognized at the Society’s international meeting in November 2018.

Felix Fritschi Accepted as Fellow in Crop Science Society of America

Felix Fritschi, C. Alice Donaldson Professor in Bioenergy Crop Physiology and Genetics, has been accepted as a Fellow in the Crop Science Society of America. Fellow is the highest recognition bestowed by the CSSA. Members of the Society nominate worthy colleagues based on their professional achievements and meritorious service. Fritschi will be recognized at the Society’s international meeting in November 2018.

Judy Stallmann Awarded 2018 Donald W. Fancher Provost Award for Outstanding Achievement in Extension and Continuing Education

Judy Stallmann, professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics, Rural Sociology, Public Affairs, was named the recipient of the Donald W. Fancher Provost Award for Outstanding Achievement in Extension and Continuing Education. The purpose of this award is to provide special recognition to faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the extension and continuing education efforts of the campus. Stallmann will be recognized along with other faculty awardees at the annual Faculty Awards Dinner in fall 2018.

David Patterson receives Animal Management Award from the American Society of Animal Science

David Patterson, professor of animal sciences and state beef Extension specialist, was honored with the 2018 Animal Management Award from the American Society of Animal Science. Patterson joined the Division of Animal Sciences at the University of Missouri in 1996 after serving as State Extension Beef Specialist in Reproductive Physiology at the University of Kentucky.  Dr. Patterson’s extension program is directed toward the development of a progressive state-wide educational program in cow-calf production with emphasis on reproduction and management of beef heifers and cows. Patterson led the development of Missouri’s Show-Me-Select Replacement Heifer Program, which is the first comprehensive, state-wide, on farm beef heifer development and marketing program in the U.S. and a new Quality Beef by the Numbers program. Patterson’s research efforts have gained wide industry acceptance, and resulted in new strategies to synchronize estrous cycles of postpartum beef cows and replacement beef heifers. He has previously received ASAS Extension and Animal Industry Service Awards and recently received the NAAB Research Award.

The ASAS Animal Management Award recognizes an individual  that has contributed to excellent research in the biological or production management of livestock. This award is sponsored by Boehringer-Ingelheim.