Submit Accolades

Bill Wiebold Receives President’s Award for Service

Bill Wiebold, professor of plant sciences, was surprised with the President’s Award for Service from the UM System during a meeting on April 20. This honor recognizes faculty who show exemplary and extensive service to the university that is above and beyond the normal service expectation, such as mentoring other faculty in the areas of teaching, research, scholarship, outreach and economic development. The UM System President’s Awards are presented annually to faculty members across the four campuses of the UM System who have made exceptional contributions in advancing the mission of the university. Wiebold will be formally recognized by UM System President Mun Choi during an awards celebration in June.

Allison Stiens selected for Agriculture Future of America Student Advisory Board

Allison Stiens, agribusiness management senior, is one of only 10 students nationwide to be selected to serve as a member of the Student Advisory Team for Agriculture Future of America. AFA is a non-profit organization that prepares collegiate students to become professionals in agriculture and related industries through various opportunities, including the annual Leader’s Conference.

Stiens, who is a 2015 graduate of Maryville High School and the daughter of Gary Stiens and Ann Stiens, said students interested in AFA should apply to the Leader’s Conference on the AFA website. Stiens said she encourages students to become involved in AFA because it not only helps students have an advantage as a professional in their future career, but also currently as a leader on campus.

Three CAFNR Seniors Named to Mizzou ’39

Each year, the Mizzou Alumni Association Student Board recognizes 39 outstanding seniors to honor the school’s founding in 1839. The students represent an array of majors, activities and organizations across campus and are selected based on their academic achievement, leadership and commitment to Mizzou and the community. Three CAFNR students were recently named to the 2018 Mizzou ’39: Michael Chadwick, Cole Edwards and Nora Faris.

Jon Simonsen Earns Golden Apple Award

Students selected to be a part of the Litton Leadership Scholars cohort engage in a yearlong seminar course centered on leadership and impactful change. The students have the opportunity learn from Jon Simonsen, a stellar leader.

“Simo,” as Simonsen’s students affectionately refer to him, was surprised with a Golden Apple Award from the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources during a trip to Chillicothe, Missouri, on April 26, where members of the cohort meet with the Jerry Litton Family Memorial Foundation.

Simonsen’s wife Michelle, along with colleague John Tummons and former professor from The Ohio State University, Robert Birkenholz, were there to watch a surprised Simonsen receive the award.

Simonsen is an associate professor, chair and leads the graduate studies program for agricultural leadership, communication and education. He also serves as the director of the Litton Leadership Scholars program.

To be eligible for the Golden Apple Award, professors must exhibit clarity, variability and enthusiasm. Faculty must be accessible to students, helpful, personable and act as a mentor. They should show how they provide opportunities for learning and should teach to the established objectives and expectations.