Submit Accolades

David Patterson receives Animal Management Award from the American Society of Animal Science

David Patterson, professor of animal sciences and state beef Extension specialist, was honored with the 2018 Animal Management Award from the American Society of Animal Science. Patterson joined the Division of Animal Sciences at the University of Missouri in 1996 after serving as State Extension Beef Specialist in Reproductive Physiology at the University of Kentucky.  Dr. Patterson’s extension program is directed toward the development of a progressive state-wide educational program in cow-calf production with emphasis on reproduction and management of beef heifers and cows. Patterson led the development of Missouri’s Show-Me-Select Replacement Heifer Program, which is the first comprehensive, state-wide, on farm beef heifer development and marketing program in the U.S. and a new Quality Beef by the Numbers program. Patterson’s research efforts have gained wide industry acceptance, and resulted in new strategies to synchronize estrous cycles of postpartum beef cows and replacement beef heifers. He has previously received ASAS Extension and Animal Industry Service Awards and recently received the NAAB Research Award.

The ASAS Animal Management Award recognizes an individual  that has contributed to excellent research in the biological or production management of livestock. This award is sponsored by Boehringer-Ingelheim.

Eric Aldrich Named 2018 Professor of the Year

Eric Aldrich, instructor of atmospheric science, was named 2018 Professor of the Year by Mizzou Athletics. Aldrich was honored with the award April 16 at the Mizzou ROARS event, which celebrates student-athletes’ successes each spring. The award is presented to the professor who “has inspired their students to exceed their potential and go above and beyond expectations to assist all students.”

Antje Heese Receives Outstanding Undergraduate Mentor Award and Ann K. Covington Award

Antje Heese, associate professor of biochemistry, received both the 2018 Outstanding Undergraduate Mentor Award from the MU Office of Undergraduate Research, and the Ann K. Covington Award from the MU Fellowship Office, which honors faculty who have served as mentors to undergraduates seeking nationally competitive fellowships. She was honored at the MU Excels celebration on April 30 for the Covington Award, and earlier in April for the Undergraduate Mentor Award. She was one of only two faculty members at the university to receive both awards.

Shibu Jose Honored with Partner in Advancement Leadership Award

Shibu Jose, director of the School of Natural Resources, was honored with the Partner in Advancement Leadership Award from MU Advancement. This award recognizes his efforts in engaging with alumni, donors and stakeholders for endowments to strengthen SNR. This spring was the first time this award was given out by the MU Vice Chancellor for Advancement, Tom Hiles; Jose was one of just two recipients.

Melissa Mitchum Named Presidential Engagement Fellow

Melissa Mitchum, professor of plant sciences, was named a Presidential Engagement Fellow for the UM System. This is the inaugural class of fellows. Fifteen faculty members were chosen among the four campuses in the UM System. The purpose of the program is to share faculty accomplishments with the citizens of Missouri; fellows are chosen based on their demonstrated excellence as well as their ability to communicate their research to the public. The program is administered through the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Extension and Engagement.

Craig Paukert Receives the Gold Chalk Award

Craig Paukert, associate cooperative professor of fisheries and wildlife, received the Gold Chalk Award from the MU Graduate Professional Council. This award is presented to MU faculty who have made significant contributions to the education and training of graduate and professional students. Paukert was honored at a ceremony in April.

Bill Wiebold Receives President’s Award for Service

Bill Wiebold, professor of plant sciences, was surprised with the President’s Award for Service from the UM System during a meeting on April 20. This honor recognizes faculty who show exemplary and extensive service to the university that is above and beyond the normal service expectation, such as mentoring other faculty in the areas of teaching, research, scholarship, outreach and economic development. The UM System President’s Awards are presented annually to faculty members across the four campuses of the UM System who have made exceptional contributions in advancing the mission of the university. Wiebold will be formally recognized by UM System President Mun Choi during an awards celebration in June.

Allison Stiens selected for Agriculture Future of America Student Advisory Board

Allison Stiens, agribusiness management senior, is one of only 10 students nationwide to be selected to serve as a member of the Student Advisory Team for Agriculture Future of America. AFA is a non-profit organization that prepares collegiate students to become professionals in agriculture and related industries through various opportunities, including the annual Leader’s Conference.

Stiens, who is a 2015 graduate of Maryville High School and the daughter of Gary Stiens and Ann Stiens, said students interested in AFA should reach out to her via her email or apply to the Leader’s Conference on the AFA website. Stiens said she encourages students to become involved in AFA because it not only helps students have an advantage as a professional in their future career, but also currently as a leader on campus.

Three CAFNR Seniors Named to Mizzou ’39

Each year, the Mizzou Alumni Association Student Board recognizes 39 outstanding seniors to honor the school’s founding in 1839. The students represent an array of majors, activities and organizations across campus and are selected based on their academic achievement, leadership and commitment to Mizzou and the community. Three CAFNR students were recently named to the 2018 Mizzou ’39: Michael Chadwick, Cole Edwards and Nora Faris.

Jon Simonsen Earns Golden Apple Award

Students selected to be a part of the Litton Leadership Scholars cohort engage in a yearlong seminar course centered on leadership and impactful change. The students have the opportunity learn from Jon Simonsen, a stellar leader.

“Simo,” as Simonsen’s students affectionately refer to him, was surprised with a Golden Apple Award from the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources during a trip to Chillicothe, Missouri, on April 26, where members of the cohort meet with the Jerry Litton Family Memorial Foundation.

Simonsen’s wife Michelle, along with colleague John Tummons and former professor from The Ohio State University, Robert Birkenholz, were there to watch a surprised Simonsen receive the award.

Simonsen is an associate professor, chair and leads the graduate studies program for agricultural leadership, communication and education. He also serves as the director of the Litton Leadership Scholars program.

To be eligible for the Golden Apple Award, professors must exhibit clarity, variability and enthusiasm. Faculty must be accessible to students, helpful, personable and act as a mentor. They should show how they provide opportunities for learning and should teach to the established objectives and expectations.