Submit Accolades

Research on College Students’ Healthy Food Consumption Nominated for Four Awards

Hospitality management master’s student Yidan Huang and adviser Dr. Pei Liu, assistant professor, were recently recognized for their research. Their work, titled “An Evaluation of College Students’ Healthy Food Consumption Behaviors,” was nominated for four best paper awards by the Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research, International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management, Journal of Hospitality and Tourism Technology, and Journal of Travel and Tourism Marketing at the recent 24th Annual Graduate Education and Graduate Student Research Conference in Hospitality & Tourism. The conference was held in Houston in January.

Bryan Garton Named Distinguished Alumnus

Bryan Garton, senior associate dean for academic programs, received the Distinguished Alumni Award from the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences at The Ohio State University in early March. The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes those who have brought distinction to themselves and the college at large through their participation, commitment and leadership. Garton received his Ph.D. in agricultural education from The Ohio State University in 1993. Learn more about the award and winners online.

Scott Brown and Shibu Jose Complete Prestigious LEAD21 Program

Scott Brown and Shibu Jose were among the 79 individuals completing the LEAD21 leadership-development program. This group of distinguished individuals represents land-grant institutions and their strategic partners from across the nation. Over the course of the past year, these individuals have met regularly with their peers, both in-person and virtually, to enhance their personal leadership capacity. The graduation was held at the culmination of the third in-person session, where the focus was on organizational leadership through collaboration, communication and leading change.

The primary purpose of LEAD21 is to develop leaders in land-grant institutions and their strategic partners who link research, academics and extension who can to lead more effectively in an increasingly complex environment, either in their current positions or future leadership positions.

Goals of LEAD21 are to enhance application of skills and knowledge across a set of nine leadership competencies, to develop a network of peer leaders to enhance personal leadership practice, collaboration and diversity of perspective and to develop and implement an individual’s leadership development process.

For more information about LEAD21, visit

Karisha Devlin to Receive Distinguished Service Award

Karisha Devlin, ag business extension field specialist in Knox County, was recently selected to receive the Distinguished Service Award from the Missouri Agricultural Extension Professionals group and the National Association of County Agricultural Agents. The purpose of the Distinguished Service Award program is to encourage and recognize excellence in the field of professional Extension for members with more than 10 years of service.

Jon Simonsen Named to Next ALOT Class

Jon Simonsen, agricultural education and leadership associate professor, director of graduate studies and department chair, was recently named to the ALOT (Agricultural Leadership of Tomorrow) Class XVIII. ALOT is a two-year adult leadership training program targeted to Missouri’s rural leaders and agricultural producers. Access further information about the ALOT program at

Duane Dailey Honored with Lifetime Achievement Award

During the recent Missouri Livestock Symposium, Duane Dailey, Extension writer and professor emeritus of Extension education, received the 2018 Agriculture Education Lifetime Achievement Award to recognize his excellence and dedication to agriculture education. Read more about Dailey and this honor at

Colleen Abbott Receives Honorary FFA Degree

Colleen Abbott, professional development specialist in the agricultural education and leadership program, received an Honorary American FFA Degree at this fall’s National FFA Convention. Honorary American FFA Degree recipients are those who have excelled as agricultural education teachers or those who have served the agriculture industry, agricultural education efforts or FFA programs on a national scale. More information about the award is available at

Ken Schneeberger receives CAFNR Proud Award

Ken Schneeberger, director of CAFNR International Programs, received the CAFNR Proud Award at the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources’ Novemberfest event, Friday, Nov. 16. The award recognizes Schneeberger’s 50 years of service to CAFNR and the University of Missouri. He joined Mizzou in 1968, after finishing his Ph.D. in production economics and agribusiness management at Oklahoma State University. He is a professor emeritus of agricultural economics, and also served as director of CAFNR’s Farms and Centers for 10 years. He has been a mentor to many students, and received the CAFNR Teacher of the Year Award in 1979. Schneeberger also received the college’s Frederick B. Mumford Outstanding Faculty Award in 2003. He has been a co-principal investigator on grants totaling more than $9 million.

Doctoral Student Selected As Commencement Marshal

Maria Haag, doctoral student in animal sciences, has been selected as the Doctoral Student Marshal for the 2018 December Commencement Ceremony at Mizzou by the Office of Graduate Studies. Haag was selected, along with an Educational Specialist Marshal and a Master’s Marshal, based on academic performance and contributions to MU and the campus community. These students will be honored with a marshal sash, will be recognized in the commencement bulletin and will be the first of those degree candidates to receive their degree during the commencement ceremony. Haag will be hooded by her faculty advisor, Bill Lamberson, director of the Division of Animal Sciences. Commencement ceremonies for the Office of Graduate Studies will be held at 7:30 p.m., Friday, Dec. 14, 2018, in the Hearnes Center.