Submit Accolades

Corinne Valdivia Awarded D. Howard Doane Professorship

Corinne Valdivia, professor of agricultural and applied economics, has been awarded the D. Howard Doane Professorship. Valdivia’s research on the translational effect of innovation on farming with the intersection of community, and her involvement with interdisciplinary mixed practice systems focused on environmental and community sustainability continue Doane’s work at the forefront of the development of agriculture economics, helping farmers to incorporate innovation into their farming operations, and using farm management strategies to achieve solutions in animal, plant, and soil management systems that lead to long standing environmental stewardship.

D. Howard Doane founded the Department of Farm Management at the University of Missouri in 1910, which later became the Department of Rural Life, then the Department of Agricultural Economics. During his life he served as a change agent for U.S. agriculture.

Sandy Rikoon Receives Honorary Doctoral Degree

Sandy Rikoon, dean of the College of Human Environmental Sciences and rural sociology professor in the Division of Applied Social Sciences, received an honorary doctoral degree from the University of South Bohemia in the Czech Republic. Dr. Rikoon’s honorary doctorate was the first honorary degree awarded through the university’s College of Economics, and it was only the 26th awarded by the university. Read more about the honor.

Judy Stallmann and Co-Authors Receive Best Paper Award

Judy Stallmann and co-authors Craig Maher, Steven Deller and Sungho Park, won the award for best paper in the Journal of Public and Nonprofit Affairs last year. The paper, titled “Surveying the Effects of Limitations on Taxes and Expenditures: What Do/Don’t We Know?” reviews the theoretical, operational and empirical contexts of tax and expenditure limitations at the state and local levels. Stallmann is a professor in agricultural and applied economics, rural sociology and public affairs. You can read the paper here.

Brandi Baade Receives Outstanding Teaching Accolade

Brandi Baade, a master’s degree candidate in agricultural leadership, communication and education, will receive an Outstanding Teaching – Ideas Unlimited Award from the National Association of Agricultural Educators during a November awards ceremony. The Ideas Unlimited contest is designed to give members an opportunity to exchange classroom, SAE, leadership, and other teaching ideas. Only six of these awards are presented nationally each year.

Henry Nguyen Awarded 2018 Crop Science Research Award

Henry T. Nguyen, Curators’ Distinguished Professor in Plant Sciences, has been awarded the 2018 Crop Science Research Award by the Crop Science Society of America. This award is presented to recognize outstanding research contributions in crop science. Candidates are evaluated on significance and originality of basic and applied research contributions in crop science, excellence in creative reasoning and skill in obtaining significant data and total impact of contributions on crop science and other fields, nationally and internationally

Nguyen will be recognized at the Society’s international meeting in November 2018.

Felix Fritschi Accepted as Fellow in Crop Science Society of America

Felix Fritschi, C. Alice Donaldson Professor in Bioenergy Crop Physiology and Genetics, has been accepted as a Fellow in the Crop Science Society of America. Fellow is the highest recognition bestowed by the CSSA. Members of the Society nominate worthy colleagues based on their professional achievements and meritorious service. Fritschi will be recognized at the Society’s international meeting in November 2018.

Judy Stallmann Awarded 2018 Donald W. Fancher Provost Award for Outstanding Achievement in Extension and Continuing Education

Judy Stallmann, professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics, Rural Sociology, Public Affairs, was named the recipient of the Donald W. Fancher Provost Award for Outstanding Achievement in Extension and Continuing Education. The purpose of this award is to provide special recognition to faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the extension and continuing education efforts of the campus. Stallmann will be recognized along with other faculty awardees at the annual Faculty Awards Dinner in fall 2018.