Missouri Soybean Association ⋅ Page 1

A Career Communicator

Christine Tew honored with Ag Communicator of the Year award from Missouri Department of Agriculture

While not a traditional farm kid, Christine Tew got involved in 4-H at an early age and later joined the National FFA Organization as a middle school student. Those positive experiences have led to a career in agriculture communication. Tew was recently honored by the Missouri Department of Agriculture for her communication efforts, taking home the Ag Communicator of the…

Research Center Magazine: Strength in Soybeans

Variety development and germplasm enhancement focus of soybean breeding team

This story also appears in our University of Missouri College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources’ Agricultural Research Center Magazine. Stop by your local Research Center to pick up a copy! You can view the magazine online by clicking here: Road to Discovery.  The Fisher Delta Research Center soybean breeding team has gained national recognition for developing improved soybean varieties.…

‘Mr. Soybean’ Named First Inductee into Soybean Hall of Fame

Norborne farmer Don Heil led the way for checkoff 

Missouri Soybean Hall of Fame inducted its first member, a Norborne farmer known as “Mr. Soybean,” into the Missouri Soybean Hall of Fame on April 5. The late Donald W. Heil, a lifelong farmer in the Missouri River bottoms of Carroll County, earned honors as an international promoter of soybeans, said Bill Wiebold, University of Missouri Extension soybean specialist. Wiebold,…

Collaboration at its Finest

CAFNR teams up with MoSoy, Missouri Corn

Collaboration is at the center of the mission of the University of Missouri College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources. A recent study abroad trip to Argentina showcased that collaboration and its importance. MU Extension specialists Ray Massey and Ryan Milhollin led a group of 10 students who traveled to Argentina to learn more about the agricultural landscape. Representatives from…

Help With a Radio Career

Carah Hart receives $5,000 farm broadcasting scholarship

CAFNR junior Carah Hart is this year’s recipient of the $5,000 Glenn Kummerow Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded by the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB) foundation to continue education.