Student Success

Submit Student Success

MU Soil Judging Team Competes in Minnesota

The University of Missouri Soil Judging team recently competed in the Region V Collegiate Soil Judging Contest in Crookston, Minnesota. A total of seven universities and more than 150 students competed. Jacob Wolken, a senior in environmental sciences, finished fourth overall in the individual competition. In a competition for group judging with mixed teams from different universities, MU combined its efforts with South Dakota State University and Kansas State University to finish first.

The team is coached by Kerry Clark, director of CAFNR International Programs; Taryn Bradley, graduate student in natural resources; and Shae Meyer, senior in environmental sciences.

The MU team includes:

  • Jessica Anderson, senior, environmental sciences
  • Wesley Clarkston, senior, geology
  • Emma Critchfield, junior, plant sciences
  • Rosie Garza, sophomore, environmental sciences
  • Carlin Gray, senior, biochemistry
  • Kyrsten Gray, senior, geology
  • Alex Kalisz, junior, environmental sciences
  • Jacob Wolken, senior, environmental sciences

Torq’N Tigers Take First in Five Categories During ASABE Quarter Scale Tractor Competition

The University of Missouri Torq’N Tigers Quarter-Scale Tractor Team took first place in five categories during the recent American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineering (ASABE) Quarter Scale Tractor Competition. The competition took place in late May and included in-person and virtual components.

The competition has students design and build a tractor, which is then put through multiple performance tests, including durability and maneuverability. Mizzou’s team finished first in durability, low hook 1100-pound class, high hook 1100-pound class, low hook 1600-pound class and high hook 1600-pound class.

The Torq’N Tigers team is led by advisor Leon Schumacher, professor and agricultural systems technology program coordinator. While the team is made up of predominantly College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources (CAFNR) and College of Engineering students, all students are welcome to join. Students who attended this year’s competition were:

  • Andrew Aufdenberg, mechanical engineering
  • Daniel Bingham, agricultural systems technology
  • Trace Chambers, agricultural systems technology
  • James Fischer, agricultural systems technology
  • Ethan Gutz, agricultural systems technology
  • Josh Hellebusch, mechanical engineering
  • Thomas Kabrick, mechanical engineering
  • Andrew Slater, mechanical engineering