Celebration of Excellence 2023

The College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources honors its outstanding faculty, staff and students each spring at the Celebration of Excellence ceremony. Celebration of Excellence 2023 was held Tuesday, April 11, at Bond Life Sciences Center. Awards were given for academic accomplishments, teaching, research, advising, extension, inclusion and safety leadership. See event photos.

Frederick B. Mumford Awards

Mumford Outstanding Staff Award: Kathy Haynes
Mumford Outstanding Faculty Award: Felix Fritschi

Outstanding CAFNR Student Awards

Outstanding Freshman: Morgan Watkins
Outstanding Sophomore: Abby Loesing
Outstanding Junior: Grant Norfleet
Outstanding Senior: Hailey Schepers
Outstanding Club: Sigma Alpha

Graduate Student Awards

William R. Lamberson Distinguished Dissertation: Yahan Li (Advisor: Rocio Rivera)

Staff Award

Outstanding Staff Award: Tracey Mitchell

Advising and Mentoring Awards

Outstanding Undergraduate Advisor Award: Amanda Alexander
Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award: Antje Heese

Teaching Awards

Outstanding Early Career Teaching Award: Eric Aldrich
Outstanding Senior Teaching Award: Deborah Finke

Teaching Academy Inductees

Christopher Daubert, Vice Chancellor and Dean
Robin Rotman, Assistant Professor

Research Awards

Distinguished Research Award: Bing Yang
Early Investigator Research Award: Jeff Wood

J.W. Burch State Specialist Agricultural Extension Award

Hank Stelzer

Roger L. Mitchell Fellow Award

Scott Peck

Inclusion Cultivator Award

Hannah Hemmelgarn

Safety Leadership Award

Marie Dickerson