Student Success ⋅ Page 11

Breanne Brammer Selected into I-CAL Program

Breanne Brammer, a freshman in science and agricultural journalism, has been selected for the International Collegiate Agricultural Leadership (I-CAL) program. The two-week summer program will take Brammer to Vietnam, Malaysia and Singapore where she will learn about global agriculture and international marketing. “I found out about I-CAL when I was selected as a delegate to the national Agriculture Future of…

Livestock Tigers

Mizzou Livestock Team places at Dixie Nationals

The University of Missouri Livestock Judging Team finished second at the Dixie National Livestock Judging Contest in Jackson, Miss., Feb. 11, 2012. The team is made-up of nine CAFNR students. Teams traveled from as far as western Kansas and Nebraska to participate in the collegiate contest. Mizzou students got their first taste of Brahman cattle in this all-beef contest. “The…

Elite Students

CAFNR seniors, faculty part of Mizzou '39 recognition

Six seniors in the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources were honored with the prestigious Mizzou ’39 award this spring for their academic achievement, leadership and service to the University and community. In the spirit of service modeled by those who made possible the 1839 founding of the University of Missouri, the Mizzou Alumni Association Student Board annually recognizes…

A Little Apple With That?

Bryon Wiegand earns the CAFNR Golden Apple Teaching Award

Bryon Wiegand, associate professor of animal science, had his class interrupted for a surprise presentation of a CAFNR Golden Apple Award. The award recognizes faculty in the College who excel and go “above and beyond” in teaching and/or advising.

Students Place in National Dairy Products Evaluation Contest

If you asked someone to evaluate their cup of yogurt or glass of milk they would most likely shoot you a confused look or give a non-specific answer such as “good,” but that’s the not the case for the MU Dairy Products Evaluation Team. They have been trained by Coach Rick Linhardt to carefully determine the quality of dairy products…

From Field to Table, Connecting Students to their Food

Sustainable agriculture major nationally recognized for leadership

Sustainable agriculture major Monica Everett was recognized nationally for her leadership on food policy at Mizzou. She’s created partnerships on and off campus to increase student awareness of where their food comes from, and worked to bring healthy, local food to campus and to area food pantries.

Help With a Radio Career

Carah Hart receives $5,000 farm broadcasting scholarship

CAFNR junior Carah Hart is this year’s recipient of the $5,000 Glenn Kummerow Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded by the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB) foundation to continue education.

Mizzou’s Sigma Alpha Chapter Honored by Nationals

The University of Missouri’s Alpha Chi chapter of Sigma Alpha sorority was honored with six 2011 national awards. Sigma Alpha is a national professional agriculture sorority with 53 chapters across the country. They have been on the MU campus since 2002 and have been growing steadily over the years. “The Alpha Chi chapter is honored to be recognized for the…

Showing Appreciation to Marines Overseas

Students help Purple Heart veteran pack care packages

CAFNR Food Science Association students help a Columbia-based non-profit group, and a wounded Marine veteran, pack care packages for Marines stationed overseas.