Dean Search: Position Announcement

Vice Chancellor and Dean of the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources

The University of Missouri invites applications and nominations for the position of Vice Chancellor and Dean of the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources. The University seeks a dynamic and innovative leader who will enhance the reputation of the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources and further its position as one of the premier colleges of its kind in the nation.

The University of Missouri was founded in 1839 in Columbia as the first public university west of the Mississippi River. Today, with an enrollment of more than 33,000 students, 13,000 full-time employees and 300,000 alumni, Mizzou is a $2.2 billion enterprise and an important investment for the state and nation. MU students represent every Missouri county, all 50 states, and 120 countries.

Founded in 1870, the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources (CAFNR) has developed into a collection of academic programs merging personalized teaching and advising, advanced research with global reach, and extension programs with a sustained impact on Missouri’s economy. CAFNR has over 210 faculty members in six academic units: Animal Sciences, Biochemistry, Applied Social Sciences, Food Systems and Bioengineering, Plant Sciences, and Natural Resources. Degree programs are offered to approximately 2,800 undergraduate and 485 graduate students. Interdisciplinary research and teaching is a hallmark of CAFNR, promoting a collaborative environment within the College and across campus. The faculty of CAFNR exceed $40 million annually in research expenditures.

Reporting to the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor, the Vice Chancellor and Dean is the chief academic, administrative, and budgetary officer as well as the primary spokesperson for the College. Candidates must have demonstrated significant achievement in leadership and administration. Candidates should have a distinguished record in research, teaching, and service. Experience outside academia will be valued. The successful candidate will possess the terminal degree in their field and qualify for an appointment as full professor with tenure in one of the divisions within the College. Candidates should have significant experience and demonstrable skills in leading and managing progressive change in the complex environments that exist within a modern land-grant university. The Dean should have a deep understanding of current and emerging challenges and opportunities in agricultural sciences and natural resources.

The full job description can be found here:

How to Apply

Nominations, applications, and inquiries of interest may be sent in confidence to the University’s executive search consultant:

Executive Search Consultant:
Martin M. Baker, Senior Vice President
Baker and Associates LLC
4799 Olde Towne Parkway – Suite 202
Marietta, GA 30068

MU Campus Contact:
Teresa L. Davis, Project Specialist
Office of the Provost

Dean Search Committee

Mark McIntosh, Interim Vice Chancellor for Research, Graduate Studies and Economic Development; Chair, Search Committee

Darryl Chatman, BS ’97, MS ’01, MS ’07, JD ’08, Attorney, Armstrong Teasdale

Sarah Darr, Senior in Forestry and Recruitment Intern

Richard Fordyce, Director, Missouri Department of Agriculture

Shari Freyermuth, Assistant Dean for Academic Programs, CAFNR; Associate Teaching Professor, Biochemistry

Felix Fritschi, Associate Professor, Plant Sciences

Sheila Grant, Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering; Professor, Bioengineering

Blake Hurst, BS ’78, President, Board of Directors, Missouri Farm Bureau

Stephen Jeanetta, Associate Extension Professor, Community Development Program

Shibu Jose, H.E. Garrett Endowed Professor, School of Natural Resources; Director of The Center for Agroforestry

Bill Lamberson, Professor, Animal Sciences

Susan Lasley, Business Manager, Plant Sciences

Anthony Lupo, Professor, Atmospheric Science, School of Natural Resources

H. Lincoln Marshall, Associate Teaching Professor, Food Systems and Bioengineering

Kristen Marshall, BS ’00, President, MU Ag Alumni Association

Lauren Mayo, Graduate Student, Reproductive Biology

Laura McCann, Professor, Agricultural and Applied Economics

Melissa Mitchum, Associate Professor, Plant Sciences

Lowell Mohler, BS ’58, Retired Director, Missouri Department of Agriculture

John Raines, BS ’88, Senior Vice President, Global Commercial, The Climate Corporation

Tom Spencer, Professor, Animal Sciences

Marshall Stewart, Vice Chancellor of Extension and Engagement

Gary Weisman, Curators Distinguished Professor, Biochemistry

Darcy Wells, Senior Executive Director for Advancement