Communications Coup

Science and Ag J students score well at media summit

Style: "Agfa"The 2014 Agricultural Media Summit ended with great news for Mizzou’s Science and Agricultural Journalism program.

Courtney Leeper, senior, received the Jim Evans Scholarship from the American Ag Editors’ Association. This is the top AAEA scholarship given each year, said Sharon Wood-Turley, MU Science and Agricultural Journalism program chair. “Courtney was recognized for her ‘excellence in academics and leadership, and for exemplifying the dedication and commitment of the outstanding individual for whom this award is named.’ Jim Evans is a much loved and respected professor emeritus from the University of Illinois.”

Breanne Brammer, senior, was recognized for her work this summer in Washington, D.C., as the AAEA editorial intern at Agri-Pulse Communications.

Leeper and Brammer were both finalists for the Forrest Bassford Student Award given each year by the Livestock Publications Council.

Mizzou’s Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow (ACT) program received the Chapter of the Year Award for Community Service.

In the National Critique and Contest, Josh Booth, senior, took first place in the editorial category; Ashley Craft, senior, was awarded third place in the long feature area; and Courtney Leeper was presented first place in the news story category and second place in the single blog entry area.

The Mizzou ACT group won the Yamaha Scholarship contest, which provided $2,500 to cover travel expenses for the students to attend Ag Media Summit.