Intercollegiate Honor

Judy Wall of Biochemistry is SEC's Faculty Achievement winner

Judy Wall Portrait WEBJudy Wall. Photo by Kyle Spradley

Judy Wall, Curators’ Professor of Biochemistry, was a recipient of a 2014 Southeastern Conference Faculty Achievement Award. These annual awards recognize a faculty member from every SEC university who demonstrates outstanding records of teaching, research and scholarship.

Her Mizzou laboratory studies metabolism of toxic metals by bacteria that could contribute to the bioremediation of contaminated soils and groundwater.

Wall has been a Biochemistry faculty member for more than 35 years. She is an international leader in environmental microbiology. Her prominence resulted in her appointment as Editor-in-Chief of the leading journal in that discipline as well as service on multiple national and international committees focusing on the environment, bioenergy and biotechnology.

Her honors include the Outstanding MU Undergraduate Research Mentor, Candidate for president of the American Society for Microbiology, Tribute to MU Women Award, Sigma Xi MU Graduate Research Mentoring Award, appointment to the Board of Governors, American Academy of Microbiology, MU Faculty-Alumni Award, Byler Distinguished Professor Award, American Academy of Microbiology Fellow, and American Association for Advancement of Science Fellowship.

MU’s Highest Faculty Honor

Wall was named a 2013 Curators’ Professor, the University’s highest and most prestigious rank. These professorships acknowledge outstanding scholars with established reputations from the entire University of Missouri system.”

Judy Wall shot through a glove box. for Mizzou, Summer 2007Photo courtesy University of Missouri.

Wall has been a member of Working Group for EU-US Environmental Biotechnology Taskforce for developing opportunities for early career scientists since 1996. She was a member of the advisory board to MU’s NSF-funded ADVANCE program, 2007-2010.

Joshua Millspaugh, the Pauline O’Connor Distinguished Professor of Wildlife Management at MU’s School of Natural Resources, was chosen as the first recipient of the University of Missouri’s SEC Faculty Achievement Award in 2013.

“These 14 professors positively represent the breadth and depth of education in the Southeastern Conference, and I want to congratulate each of them,” said SEC Commissioner Mike Slive. “The commitment to their students, universities and communities is truly commendable.”

The Southeastern Conference sponsors, supports and promotes collaborative higher education programs and activities involving administrators, faculty and students at its fourteen member universities. Goals of the SECU initiative include highlighting the endeavors and achievements of SEC faculty and universities; advancing the merit and reputation of SEC universities outside of the traditional SEC region; identifying and preparing future leaders for high-level service in academia; increasing the amount and type of education abroad opportunities available to SEC students; and providing opportunities for collaboration among SEC university personnel.

The Department of Biochemistry is part of the MU College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources (CAFNR) and the MU School of Medicine, and share faculty with five other departments as well as the interdisciplinary Life Sciences Center.