Animal Sciences Sweep

Campbell and Prather earn alumni association's highest awards

John Campbell.

The Mizzou Alumni Association honored 13 outstanding faculty and alumni at its 45th annual Faculty-Alumni Awards Ceremony.  Both of the association’s highest awards went to people with a connection to the Animal Sciences Division of the College of Agriculture Food and Natural Resources.

Graduate John Campbell was presented the Distinguished Service Award. The Distinguished Faculty Award was given to Randall Prather, Curator’s Professor in Animal Sciences.

Campbell, who received a bachelor’s degree in agricultural business in 1955, a Master of Science in 1956, a doctorate in agriculture in 1960 and an honorary doctorate in science in 2005, accepted the 57th annual Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor awarded to an MU alumnus. Established in 1956, the award recognizes outstanding service by an individual whose efforts have added to MU’s excellence.

Campbell is a renowned animal and dairy scientist who has taught more than 12,000 students. President emeritus of Oklahoma State University and former dean of agriculture at the University of Illinois, Campbell was on the MU dairy science faculty from 1960 to 1977 and endows two scholarships for Mizzou students. Campbell has authored several books on education and food production, which has earned him recognition as an authority on land-grant institutions and led to his service as a consultant to the World Bank in India and with USAID in Egypt.

A former president of the American Dairy Science Association, Campbell was named a fellow and honored with the association’s first Purina Mills Teaching Award in Dairy Production. He also was selected as an Outstanding Educator of America in 1975. Campbell is a Monticello Society Distinguished Fellow, a Jefferson Club Distinguished Fellow, a John W. Connaway Society Member and a member of the MAA, which awarded him a Faculty-Alumni Award in 1995.

Randall Prather.

Prather, Curators’ Professor and Distinguished Professor of Reproductive Biotechnology at MU, was honored with the 53rd annual Distinguished Faculty Award. Established in 1960, the award recognizes a faculty member whose sustained efforts in teaching, research and service have added to MU’s excellence. The award places special emphasis on the faculty member’s relationships with students.

Prather is best known for his research team’s success in cloning pigs whose organs might be transplanted into humans and creating the first gene-targeted pigs, which have uses for understanding human disease and improving agricultural productivity. He directs the National Swine Resource and Research Center at MU, where he has helped secure more than $90 million in research funding while mentoring 19 graduate students. Prather consults on ethical and scientific concerns regarding the impact of embryo technologies and cloning on animal reproduction and human society.

Prather has written or co-written more than 250 peer reviewed manuscripts, 34 invited review papers, 287 abstracts and 13 patents, and presented more than 100 talks to universities and scientific societies worldwide. He received a Faculty-Alumni Award from the MAA in 2008 and the President’s Award for Research and Creativity from the UM System in 2006. He also was honored with the Distinguished Agriscience Scientist Award from the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation, a research award from the Society for the Study of Reproduction, and an Excellence in Life Science Award from the Missouri Biotechnology Association.

Jan Dauve.

Two CAFNR fculty members were among the 11 who were presented Faculty-Alumni Awards.

Jan Dauve, BS Ag ’74, MS ’77, is teaching professor of agricultural and applied economics, and director of undergraduate studies.  His teaching involves applied microeconomics and macroeconomics.

Shelia Grant.

Sheila Ann Grant is a professor of biological engineering.  Her research interests include the development of biosensors and biomaterials.

MAA Faculty-Alumni Awards recognize the achievements of faculty and alumni. Assistant, associate and full professors are considered for their work as teachers and researchers and their relationships with students. Alumni are considered for their accomplishments in professional life and service to their communities and alma maters.