Two of Four

Hazelbauer and Jones named 2012 Curators' Professors

The University of Missouri Board of Curators this week named Jerry Hazelbauer, Biochemistry Professor, Chair (School of Medicine) and Division Director (College of Agriculture, Foods and Natural Resources and Natural Resources), and Jack Jones, the J. Michael Dunmire Professor and department chair in Fisheries and Wildlife, as Curators’ Professors – the University’s highest and most prestigious rank.

The appointment recognizes their exemplary service, research and contributions to the University. Only outstanding scholars with established reputations are considered for the appointment.  Only four Curator’s Professors were named at MU this year.

Jerry Hazelbauer.

Hazelbauer’s research concerns the ability of cells and organisms to sense their surroundings.  He studies E. coli, which has a rudimentary molecular “memory” that allows it to swim toward the richest sources of food.  Hazelbauer’s discoveries about how bacteria do this could shed light on human and animal sensory, memory and response systems.

Jones’ research interests focuses on understanding relationships among nutrients, biological productivity and water quality in freshwater lakes, reservoirs and streams. His work has developed new knowledge of basic ecological processes and relationships in aquatic systems, contributing to understanding and conserving freshwater ecosystems worldwide.

Curators’ Professors are designed to be a resource to the entire University through teaching, scholarship, service and outreach activities. Appointments are for five years.

Jack Jones.

Earlier this year Hazelbauer was recognized for his scientific contributions by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences.  NIGMS presented him with a Method to Extend Research in Time (MERIT) Award.  Hazelbauer is a Fellow with the American Association for the Advancement of Science and American Academy of Microbiology.  He has been recognized with a Sloan Research Award in Neurosciences, a McKnight Neuroscience Development Award and an American Cancer Society Faculty Research Award.

Jones has received the School of Natural Resources Student Council’s Outstanding Faculty Award on four occasions. He also has earned the MU Graduate-Professional Council Gold Chalk Award and the MU Alumni Association Faculty Award. He also earned the Research Award from the North American Lake Management Society.