Researchers Honored by Crop Science Society

Plant Science faculty named CSSA and ASA fellows

Professor of Agronomy Bill Wiebold and Adjunct Professor of Plant Science Hari Krishnan were honored as 2011 Fellows of CSSA by the Crop Science Society of America (CSSA).

Professor of Agronomy Bill Wiebold.

Wiebold was also elected Fellow of the American Society of Agronomy (ASA).  He served as president of CSSA, associate editor of Crop Science, associate editor of Agronomy Journal, associate editor of Crop Management, and chair of the Missouri Certified Crop Advisers Board.  He has also been a member of the Board of Directors of ASA and CSSA.

Adjunct Professor of Plant Science Hari Krishnan.

Krishnan is an acquisitions editor of The Plant Genome, associate editor of Crop Science, and a two-term member of the Book, Monograph and Multimedia committee.

Wiebold has an extension/research appointment related to soybean and corn management. Research objectives include the development of cropping systems that improve productivity, enhance stability, and protect the environment.  He promotes grower acceptance of these cropping systems through educational programs targeting growers, input dealers, and regional extension specialists in Missouri.

Research in Krishnan’s lab is to improve the overall protein content and quality of soybeans for human and animal consumption by increasing the amount of sulfur-containing amino acids, improving digestibility of soybean proteins, and by eliminating allergens and anti-nutritional factors.  His research also consists of the enhancement of biological nitrogen fixation in soybeans.

The CSSA is a scientific society headquartered in Madison, Wisc.  Society members are dedicated to the conservation and wise use of natural resources to produce food, feed, and fiber crops while maintaining and improving the environment.

Members of the Society nominate worthy colleagues based on their professional achievements and meritorious service.  Only .03 percent of the Society’s active and emeritus members may be elected Fellow.