Gentry Hall Conference Room dedicated to memory of Paul Vaughn

A dedicated teacher and administrator at the University of Missouri College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources was honored on March 12 with the dedication of the Paul Vaughn Conference Room in Gentry Hall.

The room is designed to keep alive the memory of Vaughn who died in June 2008.

Friends and colleagues from across the nation discussed his career and life accomplishments via an Internet conference during the ceremony.

Vaughn was associate dean and director of academic programs for the college.Vaughn Plaque

Known for his leadership

He was known for his leadership in academic programs at MU and his contribution in several national educational organizations, from the FFA to the National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges.

“Paul created so many things to exceed folks’ expectations when it came to education,” said Thomas L. Payne, vice chancellor and dean. “Paul was recognized nationally and internationally for his excellence in, and commitment to, higher education. He and Lanette welcomed students, faculty and staff into their home for so many fun times. They were the essence of the ‘family’ in CAFNR. And, he was loved for his sense of humor, often poking fun at himself.”

Vaughn was born August 16, 1947, in Clayton, New Mexico.

He earned his Ph.D. in agricultural education from The Ohio State University in 1976. He earned his B.S. (1968) and M.A. (1974) degrees from New Mexico State University in agricultural and extension education.

His teaching career included professorships at Texas Tech University (1990-2000), Mississippi State University (1988-1990) and New Mexico State University (1977-1988).

He also served as a high school agriculture teacher at Roy (1968-1969) and Bloomfield (1969-1974), New Mexico.

Recognized for his commitment for teaching

Vice Chancellor and Dean Tom PayneVice Chancellor and Dean Tom Payne shows a photo of Paul Vaughn as a young man to the audience viewing the dedication over the Internet.

A recipient of numerous awards, Vaughn was recognized for his commitment for teaching and his administrative performance.

In 1998, he was selected by the USDA as one of the top ten teaching faculty in the U.S.

He received 13 teaching awards: six college/university, three state, three regional and one national.

Some of the more than 40 organizational awards and honors he received include:

  • Outstanding Alumni Award from The Ohio State University
  • Fellow of the American Association of Agricultural Education
  • Outstanding Agricultural Educator in the Nation
  • Mortar Board/Omicron Delta Kappa Outstanding Faculty Member at Texas Tech University
  • Texas Tech Teaching Academy
  • National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant

Colleges/USDA Outstanding Teacher

  • National FFA VIP Award

He served on a number of state and national boards, task forces and committees working to influence the development of secondary agricultural education programs and agricultural teacher education programs throughout the U.S.

Some of his service accomplishments included:

  • National President of American Association of Agricultural Education
  • National Chairman of Agricultural Education Research Meeting
  • National FFA Board of Trustees
  • Texas Governor’s Advisory Council on Science and Technology

A sought-after speaker, he gave more than 400 presentations to professional societies, school commencements, student organization banquets and student activities.

Vaughn authored or co-authored more than 70 publications, including several texts for high school and university students. He received funding for 24 projects totaling more than $1.35 million.

In 1998, he spent a month in Sana’a, Yemen as a consultant for the Center of International Development where he assisted with the development of B.S. and M.S. degrees at the University of Sana’a for students who want to teach at two-year postsecondary institutions.

He also led a trip for National FFA Officers to study agriculture and education in Japan, Hong Kong and the People’s Republic of China.