Jan Dauve Earns 2008 MU Outstanding Adviser Award

Jan DauveJan Dauve, director of undergraduate studies and adviser chair in the agricultural economics department, was presented the 2008 University of Missouri Outstanding Adviser Award.

The award is jointly given by the MU Advisers Forum and Office of the Provost. It recognizes a faculty member who excels in advising undergraduate students and helps them achieve.

The award honors educators who take advising to a higher level where every student matters and is seen as unique.

Dauve earned his Ph.D. from Colorado State University in applied microeconomics-macroeconomics.

He teaches two introductory courses in applied microeconomics and macroeconomics at the undergraduate level and advises a large number of undergraduate students.

He has received several earlier awards and honors in teaching including the William T. Kemper Fellowship for Excellence in Teaching, Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, University of Missouri Wakonse Teaching Fellowship, CAFNR’s Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award and Gamma Sigma Delta’s Undergraduate Teaching Award of Merit.

His role as an adviser has impacted the lives of so many students that he has also received several awards as an adviser including CAFNR’s Golden Apple Award, Greek Life’s Outstanding Faculty Member, Agricultural Economics Club’s Outstanding Adviser, Social Sciences Unit’s Adviser Recognition, CAFNR’s Outstanding Undergraduate Advising and American Agricultural Economics Association’s Senior Adviser Recognition.

Also recognized at the Excellence in Advising Awards Reception were CAFNR faculty members Shari Freyermuth, assistant professor of biochemistry; George Jesse, professor of swine production and management; Mark Ryan, director of the School of Natural Resources and Wm. J. Rucker Professor of Wildlife Conservation Curator’s Teaching Professor; and Leon Schumacher, professor in agricultural systems management.